PDA

View Full Version : Epilepsy

pudd
11th Jan 2012, 11:38
Medical question.. has anybody managed to get their class one medical/license back after suffering several seizures,diagnosed as Epilepsy (abnormal EEG) and finally stabilized by Medication?

If yes, how long did they have to wait?

Wodrick
11th Jan 2012, 14:18
I can't answer your flying qualifications question, but it took me nine years to get an unrestricted driving license after my year off the road. Can't see the CAA being too much different - sorry.

gingernut
11th Jan 2012, 18:44
Abnormal EEG could be argued, a label of epilepsy might be harder.

Try a search.:)

Agaricus bisporus
11th Jan 2012, 20:49
As a pax I'd be horrified it it could be done under any circumstance.
As a pilot I'd not believe it could be done under any circumstance.
Try looking at the appropriate CAP. Its all there, chapter and verse. But what makes anyone imagine that a Class A medical could possibly be allowed after such history? Unthinkable. I hope.

gingernut
11th Jan 2012, 21:43
Agaricus, I could examine your medical notes, and find that, as a child, you had a rigour due to a feverish illness.

In the wrong hands, this could easily translate to "epilepsy" and "seizure."

grounded27
12th Jan 2012, 00:26
I suffered from Epilepsy as a child, after several years of treatment at a young age I was weened off the drug I was on and had no further problems but they say children often do grow out of it, best wishes.

On a side note, I was sitting behind a captain on short final. His condition unknown to me he started having a full on tourette's attack (not the swearing kind just the severe head twitching). The added stress of landing made this a common event, I was a bit startled at first but it had absolutely no effect on his performance. As a matter of fact I do not think I ever had a rough landing with the guy.

homonculus
12th Jan 2012, 18:36