PDA

View Full Version : ATPL Skill test and CJ3/CJ4 aircraft

Flying_hog
25th Dec 2011, 19:21
Hi guys!

I am an CJ2 pilot with more than 1500 hrs. I would like to do my ATPL license, but I have read (multiple times...) that it is not possible (:=) to pass an ATPL skill test on aircraft which are single-pilot certified.

Few weeks ago I have heard that some European CAA's allow the skill test for ATPL to be done on CJ3 or CJ4 aircraft...:confused: Can anyone confirm this rumour?

CJ pilots, how do you deal with "obtaining the ATPL" problem?

Thank you for your answers and merry christmas to you all!

172_driver
25th Dec 2011, 21:44
I am afraid I can't really answer your specific question, but... Don't you need at least 500 hrs multi-pilot aeroplane for a JAR-FCL ATPL? And excuse me in advance if that's already taken care of, but since you asked about a SPA aircraft I thought I just highlight the point.

KyleRB
25th Dec 2011, 22:38
Certainly upto and including the CJ3 it is not possible to do an ATPL skills test as they are certified SPAs. This is despite CJ hours being counted towards the 500 hours multi crew. A mate of mine with 3000 hours on CJs couldn't unfreeze his frozen ATPL until doing his LST on a MPA such as Hawker or XL.

Flying_hog
26th Dec 2011, 05:13
It is operated in a multi-crew system (according to EU OPS 1.940), so 500 hrs multi-crew is taken care off...:cool:

cgurgand
26th Dec 2011, 08:15
Flying_Hog, I'm in the same situation : Flying CJ2 and CJ3 under AOC so in a multicrew operation wit a frozen ATPL.
I never heard any CAA that let the ATPL test on a SP aircraft even if it has a MTOW above 5.7t. But the question was, is your flying hours on a multi crew environment are eligible for the 500 hours necessary to pass the ATPL. Those days, some CAA accept any flying hours in a multi crew operation and some only on a multicrew aircraft.
But the new Part FCL from EASA that will come next year is very clear :