PDA

View Full Version : Questions about getting RPL/PPL

Anteara
16th Nov 2011, 09:56
Hi all, first of all, I'm very sorry if there is a thread already about this, I searched, couldn't find anything that answered my question.

Second of all I'm in Australia and i know that you wont be able to give me exactly the answer I want if you're not from here and dont know the rules etc, it's okay.

Just for some context,

I'm living in Australia, however I am Canadian and have dual citizenship, I'm 17, in my last grade of high school. Working towards RPL but not yet PPL.
I'm a flight student with 10 hours experience in an Aeroprakt A22LS (known in Australia as the 'Foxbat'). I've been getting ready to do my first solo the past few lessons, anyway,
I want to become a pilot as a career, my degree will hopefully be in computer science, I would like to join the air force however I consider that a dream job that I probably won't get, so I would be perfectly happy working the next 10+ years trying to get in the left seat of a great airline.

Here's a little more context, there are three flight schools in my town,
Two teach Australian students to get their RPL (neither can teach for PPL but all instructors have their ATPL).
One teaches students from Papua New Guinea to get their CPL. They don't train Australians (not sure why).