PDA

View Full Version : The Dilemma

FutureFO
22nd Oct 2011, 06:28
Background:
I've been working towards my PPL for 2 years, i exptected to have this done some time ago because ideally i wanted to have my CPL finish by MAY 2012.

I have had 2 instructors (one i've stayed with for quite a long time, followed to a new school he went too, the original got a charter job 3 months into my training.) The instructor I have now is great technically, honestly very good and thorough.

The Problem:
I'm wanting to take this seriously, this instructor has his own plans he is a young guy who hasn't been in the industry for the 20+ years or even retired from FO and instructing now as some instructors are. He's ambitious wants to start his own company etc.

The problem i face is. I'm making myself available as much as possible to receive training but my instructor is taking the days off to set up his own business which are PERFECT days for the PPL training I require, than booking me in on mediocre days of weather which have 99% of the time been cancelled.

I've met an instructor who is an older guy, had 1 check flight with him just to see what else is around. He's a committed older guy, semi retired. He has informed me his main ambition is to push his students to get to CPL.

The way my training has been going with the younger guy, I can't help but feel this older chap (in his 60's) might be the right move for me as well he's not looking to push his career further forward. He's been successful and flown for Q-Link and the old Ansett.

The Question(s):
Am i better off just cutting my losses finish my PPL with this instructor, who We have taken 2 years to complete my PPL (should be within the next while) when I've been available full time I've said 7 days a week?

Start my CPL with this older instructor?

Do I change to this older guy, more experience, more commitment to from a training aspect (no need for him to meet his quota or push for the "next level" in his career"?