PDA

View Full Version : COULD you land a passenger jet (if you ONLY hold a PPL)???

Bearcat F8F
18th Oct 2011, 14:13
Hi everyone,

I've been having a rather ridiculous argument with a friend (both of us hold a PPL) about whether or not I would manage to land a passenger jet (e.g. 737) if for example the plane got hijacked and we found ourselves in the cockpit (after the hijackers were overpowered by the passengers or something like that... doesn't matter really...)

I argue yes. I have been flying in MSFS since 2002 and I am pretty convinced that I would manage to make a visual approach and be able to control a real 737. My PPL knowledge along with flight sims experience would IMO provide all the necessary knowledge I require for basic control of a passenger jet. I am not saying it will be a pretty landing (nor will it involve any proper procedures) but I am saying I stand a good chance at making it happen.

Obviously I got laughed at...

So, any of you real world pilots have any opinions?

P.S. I landed a full motion SSJ-95 sim before (it was at an airshow where they let me fly it).

HEATHROW DIRECTOR
18th Oct 2011, 14:41
I know airline Captain who had difficulty landing a FS 747 and I had great difficulty with an ATC simulator..... make of that what you will.

Groundloop
18th Oct 2011, 14:52
No chance to manually land it. Flight Sim gives no idea of what the real aircraft feels like.

However, a PPL may be able to set up an autoland if very carefully talked through the procedures in real-time.

Sir Herbert Gussett
18th Oct 2011, 14:52