PDA

View Full Version : Missed approach from runway 26 at Innsbruck

Nicholas49
17th Aug 2011, 15:00
Afternoon all,

I'm sure this question has been asked before. I promise I have searched to try to find the answer, but no avail.

If you need to go-around from an approach to runway 26 at Innsbruck (Austria), how do you avoid the mountain at the end of the runway? Do you have to turn sharply or do you have to use a steeper-than-usual climb gradient (I know there is no such thing, but you get my drift). Or both? What would be the typical climb-out rate for an A320/B737?

Thank you.

I have realised that the question relates not only to a go-around, but also a take-off from that runway!

2 sheds
17th Aug 2011, 19:13
Google Austria AIP.

Nicholas49
18th Aug 2011, 11:39
OK, have done. But not being a pilot, I can't read an approach plate. :hmm:

Alteburger
18th Aug 2011, 14:05
There are two procedures depending on when you go around.

1) Normal missed approach is a left turn at 1nm prior to the threshold at a maximum speed of around 155 kts and climbing to leave the valley on a similar track to the way in. Acceleration and flap retraction is delayed.

2) Balked landing procedure takes you a mile beyond the airport, a small right jink for two miles, and then a left turn again at around 155kts before leaving the valley on a similar track to the way in. Again, acceleration and flap retraction is delayed.

There are other profiles based on the engine failure case for balked landing, and engine failure after takeoff cases as well.

Denti
18th Aug 2011, 15:40
Or simply follow the RNAV (RNP AR) procedure which has a full go-around procedure according to the balked landing procedure albeit with 165kts in the turn. Easy to fly as you can let the automatics handle it or simply follow the waypoints otherwise.

Alteburger
18th Aug 2011, 16:10
I think the question asked related to where the go around procedure took you geographically.