PDA

View Full Version : How to apply FDP, Duty and Standbys

Takeoff WAT
26th Jul 2011, 20:19
Evening All,
I'm a newbie to the CAP371 and applying it to real situations, so having thoroughly confused myself I'm after a crewing expert to clarify something for me.

When a crew member has been on Standby and is called out to Report for a Flying Duty, is it the FDP or the Duty Period that is the limiting factor to apply?

For example:

Crew Member Reports at 20:00LT for a 2 Sector flight but has already been on Standby at home for 10 hours.

So, 20:00LT and 2 Sectors means an 11:15 FDP and so the scheduled On Chocks time should be no later than 07:15LT the next day.

However, with 10hrs Standby time already worked, we calculate the Duty Period as 10hrs Standby, plus the allowable FDP of 11:15 (accounting for the more limiting FDP set by the 20:00LT Report), minus the difference of 10hrs minus 6hrs, so giving a total Duty Period of 17:15 hrs.

So, does that mean the crew member can still work through to 07:15LT, according to the correct FDP, or is it the more limiting Duty Period that is applied, accounting for the earlier start of their Standby at 10:00LT, plus the allowable Duty Period of 17:15 hrs, taking them through to 03:15LT as the latest On Chocks time allowable?

Common sense says the more restricting Duty Period would apply but it isn't clear in CAP371 if that's the case?

Could someone who does this every day please clarify for me?

Thanks in advance.

OutsideCAS
26th Jul 2011, 23:20
Don't wish to hijack or drift the thread, am curious if anyone has been in a company where flight crew are subject to 24 hrs continuous rolling SBY duty, if called then the SBY duty dissapears ?? how do FOI not bring level 1/2 findings against companies involved at audit times ?? cannot believe these items are not indeed glaringly obvious - or are they ignored, a blind eye turned ?.

Rostafarian
26th Jul 2011, 23:35
Mate,