PDA

View Full Version : Which aircraft should i fly? advice needed

ali1552
10th Jun 2011, 18:26
Hi!

I am a military pilot and i have been given a choice between Phenom-100, IL-76 and Saab-2000.

Phenom-100 has glass cockpit and also twin engine jet but it is a very light aircraft. Saab-2000 also has glass cockpit but its turbo prop. IL-76 is very heavy but no glass cockpit.

any advice from the experts would be appreciated. thanks in advance.

bfisk
12th Jun 2011, 07:37
Take the heavy any day. Glass cockpit time means close to nothing, except for your own convenience. You'll make the transition to glass later.

ali1552
12th Jun 2011, 11:05
thanks for the reply.

so that means experience on heavy jets is more valuable...even if they are old and devoid of any modern avionics. i'll keep that in mind.

vserian
12th Jun 2011, 11:52
Go for the IL-76

mad_jock
12th Jun 2011, 12:09
Tough choice.

Glass gets sorted in less than one sim session so don't worry about that.

If you have a 100t plus on your ticket it puts you into a different bracket than most pilots. Basically it means your up for wide body jobs from the word go.

The Phenom will put you into the Biz jet cat but doesn't do you any favours for airlines.

The saab 2000 have very few airframes out there and you will have a very small market to get work in. If you do a search on Eastern they operate them in the UK.

The only problem you will have with the IL-76 is that most if not all of the operators will expect you to fly into some right :mad: holes and you also might have issues if you don't know the local lingo. But if you have a job lined up already, 500-1000 hours on line will set you up for moving on to something decent

kaptn
12th Jun 2011, 13:08
I wouldn't go for the IL, I think it's russian, and if in the futur you'll be flying in europe, you won't find a lot of ILyshins in the region....However, maybe it's a good experience to fly it (I guess not many pilots in Europe have flown IL)