PDA

View Full Version : Where do companies think fully qualified staff come from?

Kengineer-130
31st May 2011, 17:40
Bit of a minor rant, but I am currently studying for my EASA B1/2 licences, I have years of mil experience, but no civil work as of yet. Looking through all the aviation job websites, all companies seem to want is fully qualified B1/2 engineers with 5+years experience, multiple type ratings and all the relevant certificates such as HF, fuel tank safty etc. It seems to be virtually impossible to get in as a mech or fitter unless you hold an A licence already?

I can appreciate that businesses try to cut overheads as much as possible, but WHERE do they expect all these fully qualified, typed ,experienced personnel to come from if they are not offering mech/fitter work? :ugh: It's early days yet, but I am worried that after personally investing heavily in my future, that I will be unable to gain the year of log book experience I need to apply for my B1/2. :sad: It seems to me that no one is willing to invest in new staff?

Fargoo
31st May 2011, 19:10
No point employing someone with no experience and no cover when there are plenty of lads and lasses out of work with all the right stuff already.

Plenty of experienced people out there without jobs to scoop up those advertised. All you can do I guess is keep banging away with the CVs in the hope that you can get a job as a mechanic and get the relevant experience that way.

Things are slowly picking up but it's not exactly the most secure of careers to choose, we are an unwanted cost to be ditched whenever possible.

Rigga
31st May 2011, 22:19
I understand how you feel but:-

Would you want someone "not qualified" to work on your nice car? Airlines are the same - and their planes cost a lot more and are more susceptible to damage.