View Full Version : Which path to take?

Sharklet
31st May 2011, 08:15
Hello fellow pilots!

I am under a big confusing decision making point in my life and would appreciate advise from experienced members on here. I graduated from FTO XY in May '10 after completing an integrated course. I began job hunting for a pilot's position like many freshers on here but to no avail did I find one. I then decided to pursue any other position within the aviation industry.

A few months later I worked in an operations department, filing flight plans, coordinating private flights, etc... Like an operations controller. Sadly the job was short lived as the department closed down after 2 months. I was again furloughed and in search for a job when I managed to get a flight dispatcher's position at a decent UK airline near my home airport and currently love the job. Only thing is that they don't know I am a pilot....I was afraid to reveal as I feared loosing or not getting my job. I currently LOVE the responsibility and the work environment and am in direct contact with the airline industry on a day-to-day basis.

Recently FTO XY offered me to become an instructor and pay off the course as well as the hours to get to the minimum. Now in this UK airline perhaps I could get an airline pilot's job if I continue to prove myself trustworthy and hard working, which is my quality but this instructor's job is a way to build time.

I want to do both but I think it may be a little difficult. What do you guys suggest? I know I am lucky to get this opportunity but I want to try the luck at this UK airline in taking me...but I don't know if it will work...it's a big MAYBE. On the other hand an instructor's job will just limit me to VFR flying...and eventhough my flying hours will increase...will it really help me get a job whether I have 220 hours or 500 hours piston?

JTONeil
31st May 2011, 12:52
It all depends on who the airline is! Do they normally take people with your experience level?