PDA

View Full Version : Nimrod AEW radar operators needed!!

TheVulcan
16th Mar 2011, 10:37
I'm writing a book on the Nimrod called Nimrod Rise and Fall. I'm an author, Aviation Books and Mystery Novels By Tony Blackman (http://www.blackmanbooks.co.uk), and by chance as a test pilot I flew 40 of the 46 we built at Avros. I'm doing it because I want everyone to know what a wonderful job the aircraft did and what a huge gap it leaves. I'm putting in a lot of aircrew stories of the things the aircraft did and the final chapters are about the Nimrod AEW and MR4. My problem is that there has been pages and pages of 'scuttlebutt' about the AEW aircraft's Mission System Avionics but no first hand description of the testing of the radar and how good and bad it was. I'm looking for actual operators of the AEW's MSA and if there is an operator who can compare its performance and the AWACS at the time that would be even better.

dakkg651
16th Mar 2011, 13:13
Can't help I'm afraid Tony.

Would be grateful, however, if you could let us know, on Prune, the date of publication so we can order our copies. :ok:

Milarity
16th Mar 2011, 14:25
I'm sure our own regular contributor will be along with a bad joke or two once he gets out of bed.

Wensleydale
16th Mar 2011, 16:13
Yawn... What's up?

Fortissimo
16th Mar 2011, 17:13
TheVulcan

Please check your PMs.

The Old Fat One
16th Mar 2011, 18:42
Was there not a National Audit Office report dedicated to the Nimrod AEW. I would have thought it would have had a bit more than scuttlebutt in it????

You'll have seen this

BAe Nimrod AEW 3 (http://www.spyflight.co.uk/nim%20aew.htm)

Pontius Navigator
16th Mar 2011, 18:48
I would have thought scuttlebutt would be more enlightening - like picking up trains and cars.

Just think, could have had a Sentinel capability 20 years earlier.

bvcu
17th Mar 2011, 00:05