PDA

View Full Version : Cadet pilot 206 Jetranger

heliPilotCadet
17th Feb 2011, 19:43
hi i am a cadet pilot and i am flying with ab206 jet ranger 3 . and my flight instructor asked me too find why do we wait for a while when the engine is running an idle. i looked for every documents but i couldnt glad my instructor i need that information in details. (engine oiling system) i would be very happy if anyone can help me .

thanks.

Aspiring Pilot Alex
17th Feb 2011, 19:50
I was under the impression that this heats the oil up making it less viscous so it can travel around the engine better. Thick oil aint very good at lubricating engine parts.

heliPilotCadet
17th Feb 2011, 19:57
thank u but i said that to my instructor my he want more details. he told me i should find whats happinig in n1 and n2 turbins when the engine is running idle?

hueyracer
17th Feb 2011, 20:31
What do you mean when you say "we wait for a while"?
One to 5 seconds, or 1 to 5 minutes?

The helicopter flight manual should tell you everything you need-unfortunately, some instructors like to confuse their students with information they got from a) other helicopters, b) the maintenance manuals or c) the helicopter test flight programs (normally to be found in b.)....

Gemini Twin
17th Feb 2011, 20:48
With respect to the oil system before take off you wait until both temp. and press. are in the green. No set time, depends temp at the start. Now if you are talking about staying at idle for 2 minutes before shutting down you are using the oil flow to cool the turbine bearings as much as possible to prevent carbon forming that could eventually build up to a sufficient level to reduce proper oil flow.

gulliBell
17th Feb 2011, 22:51