PDA

View Full Version : Where would new pilots work ?

linzian
27th Jan 2011, 03:05
Good evening , I'm a student in Vancouver and starting my life as a pilot soon this year . I'm going to a college which offers a diploma and teaches you to become a pilot. The thing I'm really curious about is where would new graduates go right after flight school? Can they be hired by regional airlines ?

captainsuperstorm
27th Jan 2011, 03:29
they go to:

mac do airline
burger king airline
capo cabana airline
Tacohell airline
tesco airline

etc.

linzian
27th Jan 2011, 03:52
you think your funny ?

Gulfstreamaviator
27th Jan 2011, 04:10
The market for newly qualified Pilots unless sponsored by a employer is almost NIL.

There is a large pile of burgers to be flipped and a small pile of empty right seats.

I suggest build hours, either as a glider tow pilot, pleasure flight , or instructor.

Pay your dues, and then get upset, if not employed in 3-4 years time.

sorry but that's the hard truth.

Halfwayback
7th Feb 2011, 08:30
Linzian

Welcome to Pprune!

The problem is that the industry is in the doldrums right now and a quick read through some of the threads in this forums will indicate how dire the situation is at present.

There is a lot of unemployed highly qualified and experienced pilots out there looking for jobs as a result of the economic downturn and you should understand their cynical view when you ask the question in the original post.

A couple of hours spent reading some of the threads here will give you a good insight to the industry.

HWB

LH2
7th Feb 2011, 11:59
To be fair, I do not think this industry is much different from any other.

When there is a shortage of qualified people, those without experience have a chance to start somewhat higher up the ladder, such as would be a first paid job on a turboprop or even a jet in the case of a pilot.