PDA

View Full Version : FAA vs. JAA !! What should one choose!

karan89er
15th Dec 2010, 10:02
Hey Guys,
I am an aspiring pilot from India and I plan to go for my flight training next year in February. I have chosen a school in Florida, United States, but just recently a friend of mine told me that the FAA license is not going to be given due weightage among airlines in India, and the JAA license is going to be given preference. I just wanted to know if this is true and if yes, which schools can I opt for for a JAA license? Thanks in advance. :)

IndAir967
15th Dec 2010, 10:54
Hey Guys,
I am an aspiring pilot from India and I plan to go for my flight training next year in February. I have chosen a school in Florida, United States, but just recently a friend of mine told me that the FAA license is not going to be given due weightage among airlines in India, and the JAA license is going to be given preference. I just wanted to know if this is true and if yes, which schools can I opt for for a JAA license? Thanks in advance.

Do u hav an degree ?
If not get one (preferably an professional one).
If you do go get yourself an MBA from an reputed college (using the money
u planned to spend on aviation)

4000 people + are jobless. Dont repeat the mistake (unless your dad works
in an airline OR at dgca).

After spending 25 lakhs for CPL and going through all hardships to covert
their license in India and finally obtaining an Indian CPL , you have airlines
like indigo which mercilessly ask you to pay another 40,000 dollars for the
type rating which in my opinion is an absolute unfair act.

OR

You ll have to get yourself an Boeing 737 or Airbus 320 Type Rating by paying
another 20000 USDollars and still might end up not getting an job.

COST OF CONVERTING/OBTAINING AN INDIAN CPL - 50,000 Dollars
COST OF OBTAINING AN TYPE RATING - 20,000 Dollars.
Other Costs such as travelling for exams
and classes for conversion and RT - 5,000 Dollars.

Total Cost - 75,000 Dollars.