PDA

View Full Version : Low time pilot applying for jobs

Newbie Pilot
25th Oct 2010, 21:11
Hi,

I am new to this forum and this is my first post so please forgive me if I do it wrong. I am a new pilot in Canada who recently got his CPL, with a multi rating and multi IFR. I have 225 hours and planning on going up north to Yellowknife, Iqualuit etc. to apply for jobs. I was wondering when is considered "peak" season to go and apply for jobs?

Thanks for your help.

redsnail
25th Oct 2010, 21:40
G'day Newbie,

Welcome. I think you'll probably get better advice from the Canadian forum "further down". :ok:
Usual advice. Do as much research you can about the areas you'd like to operate in. Make sure you have every thing that they might need, such as First Aid certificates, Dangerous Goods awareness etc. Whatever is usually required in the parts of the world you're looking at.

Good luck.

hollingworthp
25th Oct 2010, 22:21
If you are going to earn your seat by working as a rampie, Canadian winter doesn't seem an appealing time to start - although for someone really dedicated, perhaps there would be more opportunities at this time?

Best of luck

ashish_pilote
26th Oct 2010, 08:01
I bet you'll get more info about Canada on www.avcanada.ca (http://avcanada.ca)

All the best

downnorth
26th Oct 2010, 13:55
Things are a bit slow in the North during this time of year.
No one is loosing jobs but there is certainly no hiring sprees like during the spring/early summer months.

If you do head up this way I would recommend any one of the following companies in Yellowknife:

Arctic Sunwest has a good operation, great group of people, nice fleet (Dash 8's, Buffalo's, Twin Otter's) with reasonable wait times.

Air Tindi is a good option, good group of people, larger fleet (Dash 7, Twin Otters, Large Float Operation), great work schedules, but generally longer wait times to fly.