PDA

View Full Version : What English Proficiency Level r U?

Fair.Pilot
25th Oct 2010, 14:06
Dear Flyers,

I'm doing a small data gathering information regarding the
EPL(not English Premier League!) in various countries.

I heard Taiwanese and Singapore pilots all Level 6?

For a start, myself Level 4 from Malaysia.

Thanks for keeping this thread rolling.....

tom744
25th Oct 2010, 15:06
Hmmm.....
hard to believe that taiwanese pilots got all level 6!
I was working there for almost 7 years and according to my observations the english proficiency from malaysian pilots was by far better.
Civilian trained pilots had most a good command of english there but the majority came from taiwanese military and those guy's english was really not the best!

vserian
25th Oct 2010, 15:20
Level 6
I am an Indian pilot but born and brought up in the United states.

weapon-x
25th Oct 2010, 19:07
Level 6
I am an Indian pilot with Canadian CPL as well ...

Fair.Pilot
26th Oct 2010, 09:02
Good day Vserian, weapon-x :

Is it normal for pilots to get Level 6 in US and Canada?

Thanks

vserian
26th Oct 2010, 12:54
@Fair.Pilot

Hi there, i think yes, its common for pilots who's first language is English to get a Level 6.

By the way i am not from the states, I am Indian who moved out from the US some 10 years ago. I also know a lot of Indian born Indian pilots who has level 6.

parasite tango
26th Oct 2010, 13:56
I am an Indian & FAA CPL holder. Please tell me how to go about this test. DGCA website doesn't mention any dates for this test. When do they conduct this test?

weapon-x
26th Oct 2010, 18:12
@Fair.Pilot (http://www.pprune.org/members/111557-fair-pilot)

i think its easy to get 6 ,, and just to let u know i went to Canada for my CPL only and Hindi is my 1st language ,

the trick to get 6 is better understanding of Accent i guess ...

kwaiyai
27th Oct 2010, 04:25
I had to sit my Aviation English test in Malaysia allthough I am from UK.