PDA

View Full Version : TAP and SATA pilot recruitment and pay?

ng78
11th Oct 2010, 21:51
There is an older thread that I started last year with the intention to find out more about the Portuguese pilot market. It was suggested that there are many unemployed pilots in Portugal at the moment, especially considering that there hasn't been much hiring for quite a while. This thread can be seen here:

http://www.pprune.org/interviews-jobs-sponsorship/386026-portuguese-market.html

With the industry as a whole improving, and TAP at least putting out decent financial numbers, I'm wondering if things are turning a corner for TAP, SATA, and other Portuguese airlines. My situation is that I am a low time commercial pilot in Canada who would need to go through the conversion process in order to apply, but I need to ensure that my timing is reasonable as it might be easier to get a flying job in Canada than it would be in Portugal. Any insight into TAP and SATA's situation would be appreciated.

The second thing that I would like to find out more about are current pay rates at both airlines.

Thanks in advance for any info!

Cheers,

ng78

Rui Dias
12th Oct 2010, 03:36
Stay in Canada.

ng78
12th Oct 2010, 03:43
If you're not interested in being helpful or polite, please simply ignore the thread. Obrigado.

coltrane
12th Oct 2010, 08:28
Hi ng78,

As far as I can judge, the Portugese market (and the financial state of the country itself) is still not looking to bright for the moment. But did you consider applying for the 2 big European LCC’s? Easyjet will open a Lisbon base in the very near future and Ryanair already has bases in Porto and Faro and (for what it’s worth) there are rumours already for a long time about a base to be opened in Lisbon as well.

Not really the TAP T&C’s you’re after, but if you really want to go to Portugal this might be your way in!

Boa sorte

CS-CCO
12th Oct 2010, 09:59