PDA

View Full Version : How can I search for jobs in Boston MA?

TSIO540
26th Sep 2010, 02:21
Hi Folks,

Can anyone guide me on how to search online for pilot jobs in the Boston area please?

I am an Australian pilot and I am enrolling to study for a Masters degree at MIT with a view to doing a PhD in Aeronautics.

What I would like to do is keep flying casually or part time to maintain currency for the 2-4 years it will take for this program.

I am interested primarily in flying a turboprop but I would consider instructing in small aircraft again

For reference: I am a Metroliner captain with 3000TT, 1200 Multi-Engine, 600 Turbine, 500 Night, Grade One Instructor Rating (Aeroplane), 1400 Instructor hours, a Multi-Engine Command Instrument Rating with 5 renewals, and a Bachelor degree. I have SA227 Metro 3 & 23, and also B200 command experience.

TSIO540

TSIO540
26th Sep 2010, 02:58
I do not have any visas as yet as this project is still in the planning stage. I am working towards studying in the US not before 2011 but most likely 2012.

I intend to enter the US on a full-time student visa but I am planning to talk to the embassy about the possibility of a limited work permit. I understand that there is a permit that would allow some work but I don't know enough about it yet.

My wife intends to enter the US with an E-3 (for Australian Citizens only) visa as she is a degree qualified Criminologist.

My main concern so far is, what kind of work would be possible in the area to help me stay current and perhaps cover some of the cost of tuition.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

TSIO540

TSIO540
26th Sep 2010, 03:19
Thanks SoCal App,

I was considering going as a spouse to my wife's E-3 visa. I guess I should check with the embassy if that will allow me to study. I am intending to come to the US with enough $$ to cover all tuition but have my wife earn enough to cover living expenses while we're there.