PDA

View Full Version : Engine failure B742 FRA

contractor25
25th Sep 2010, 20:54
A B747-200 has made an RTO due to an uncontained engine failure at FRA yesterday apparently resulting in substancial damage to wing and fuselage says a report on Avherald.

Does anyone have any pictures of this incident? It's of interest as I'm a structural mechanic.

akerosid
26th Sep 2010, 00:12
Most likely this incident:

Accident: Southern Air B742 at Frankfurt on Sep 24th 2010, rejected takeoff due to uncontained engine failure (http://www.avherald.com/h?article=43163309&opt=0)

411A
26th Sep 2010, 03:22
Expect more of this kind of incident as Kalitta has acquired many ex-NWA -200F's....and these are very old airplanes, of questionable serviceability.
IE: DAL got rid of them for a very good reason.

Willit Run
26th Sep 2010, 03:38
FO wun wun,
Seein as how dat faylure was a GEE EEE, and da NWA flyin macheens got Pratts, not so sure dats gonna be a problim.

SNS3Guppy
26th Sep 2010, 04:20
Expect more of this kind of incident as Kalitta has acquired many ex-NWA -200F's....and these are very old airplanes, of questionable serviceability.

Perhaps you haven't actually seen or flown those airplanes. I have, recently, and they weren't in bad shape at all. Quite good, actually. One is the last -200 off the assembly line, I believe, and featured a number of -400 parts...not a bad airplane at all. Furthermore, they'll be making a number of upgrades.

Delta/NWA didn't park them because they were no longer serviceable. They were no longer flying the Classic, and elected not to continue as the sole remaining legacy carrier with it's own freight division.

411A
26th Sep 2010, 05:23
... and elected not to continue as the sole remaining legacy carrier with it's own freight division.
With good reason.:}

TowerDog
26th Sep 2010, 05:46
Logged 15 years on the classics, bad maintenance and all, for several "carriers", never had one of questionable serviceability.