PDA

View Full Version : Avionics workshop engineer. What is it like ?

Cavalryman
12th Sep 2010, 12:56
Good day to everyone !

Could you tell me please something about avionics workshops ? Which education is usually demanded by employer and how is it going there ? :) I am interested in this job.

Now I work as CAMO engineer (trainee). Unfortunately, this job is mostly about sitting in office, reading FAA and EASA publications... Also, I do not gain experience on real A/C, so this position will not help me to get B1/B2 license...
It is bad, mkay ©.

Now I have a bachelor degree, and there is possibility to study for master degree in electronics. So who is usually working in avionics shops: former and experienced B2 maintenance engineers or young geeks with master or PhD degrees in electronics ?

Best regards. :)

Cavalryman
12th Sep 2010, 16:40
Thanks for reply, ASFKAP.
By the way, what is your occupation now ?

It is very hard to decide for me which way to go. Taking into account dramatic unemployment in my country, it is wise to stay at current work... and hope, that I could be transferred to maintenance some day. From the other hand, master (mg.) degree in electronics may help somehow also... :)

flame_bringer
13th Sep 2010, 00:07
Hi Cavalryman
Having been to mena aerospace avionics workshop in bahrain for 5 months for a training I can give you some perspective on the thing,
1- Do not go for that job the salary is not so good (The workshop supervisor earns around 900 bds) given all the work you get to do there.
2- It's exactly like what asfkap said the exp is not counted as a 145 exp and thats what the EASA auditing guy said to me strictly when he was auditing the workshop out there when I asked him.