PDA

View Full Version : Ex-Mil Aircrew (Non pilot) to Airline Pilot

RCOV 2 ENG
6th Sep 2010, 09:34
Hi Guys,

Considering the current economic climate and downturn in the aviation industry, I was wondering if there are still realistic opportunities to utilise previous flying experience and to get 'a foot in the door' somewhere?

I was a RAF Flight Engineer, and used to working in a busy cockpit environment. I have been away from the game now for a couple of years as personal circumstances and mortgage take priority.

I have read horror stories of the 85k GBP+ required to go from PPL to ATPL, and to be honest I can't entertain that, what with 2 kids and a mortgage. Maybe I will just have to get a PPL and fly recreationally for fun.

It has always been a pipe dream to become a professional pilot, maybe now is not the right time?

Advice and hints and tips appreciated in advance!

Superpilot
6th Sep 2010, 16:32
You've asked yourself the question. Now decide the answer :ok:

Flying Mechanic
6th Sep 2010, 17:07
personally I reckon do it.It looks good on your cv your have flying experience I have know a few FE's over the years who have jumped into the right seat and never looked back. I reckon do your FAA tickets, get a CPL/IR, also do your FAA A&P ticket aswell ( always comes in handy- trust me!), then later on do your JAA lic( and all that wont cost u 85K),just go for it, dont listen to alll the negative people on pprune!I was ground engineer until 1995, then went flying/training, got my first flying job in 1999 ( i was 30)then pistons, turbo props, heavies and now corporate....my advice, chase the dream.

Wirbelsturm
7th Sep 2010, 07:36
Contact the CAA directly with your log book and experience. The chap used to be Simon White as the military liasion man but I'm sure he will have moved on.

They will be able to brief you on what you require and if and dispensations are available.

Then make your decision.

Good luck.