PDA

View Full Version : Dual fmc failure

wilco77
16th Aug 2010, 13:40
Dual fmc failure in radar environment, ie. Malaysian airspace over India, what does ATC need to be informed?

HPbleed
16th Aug 2010, 14:38
If this was me, I would make a Mayday, loss of navigational performance, loss of RVSM etc, would require radar headings, probably to nearest suitable airfield where the problem can be fixed (so need onward travel for pax, an engineering department - perferably used to dealing with company aircraft).

Pugilistic Animus
16th Aug 2010, 14:47
A Mayday???

But,

Where's your emergency? :eek:

HPbleed
16th Aug 2010, 14:50
The fact that you're no longer LNAV and VNAV compliant? Please, correct me, I'm still learning these things!

Pugilistic Animus
16th Aug 2010, 15:04
wilco77

HPbleed

I think you would just---say unable RVSM--etc.

but you should still have IRS capability on raw data STBY NAV [ususally] no
you wont lose ALL area navigation---:)

Bruce Wayne I don't think they are 'trolls', It is a genuine question...sometimes folks were not taught or just don't know-we don't want to put pilots off from coming here and asking genuine questions---:)

Bruce Wayne
16th Aug 2010, 15:18
PA,

Fair enough.. post removed :ok:

johns7022
16th Aug 2010, 15:32
By FMC I assume you mean FMS....like loosing your GPS, or GNSXL....

Um....well if your going direct...and now you have to fly by VORs, ADF, DME, ect....not an emergency...your just going to have to start pulling out charts...and using other means of navigation....

Going from SFO to Hawaii, would probably be an issue...

I always bring a little hand held GPS with me....

Joshilini
16th Aug 2010, 15:35
Why would you declare a mayday?

Switch to manual flying and request vectors to the nearest suitable airport (suitable -- up to your very own interpretation there). No offence but have a lot of airline pilots forgotten how to fly manually? "Gear up and switch on the autopilot will you?"

Type1106
16th Aug 2010, 15:41