PDA

View Full Version : Australian Defence Force Aircraft Technician / LAME / AME Questions

TUF250
30th Jul 2010, 09:24
Hi All,

I am a flying instructor in Australia and am thinking about a career change due to my keen mechanical interest. I have a few questions which I cannot find answers too after nights of searchin on the internet.

I am very interested in becoming an Aircraft technician with the australian air force.

What I would like to know is, is the ADF aircraft technician the same as a civilian AME or LAME? Do the qualifications satisfy eachother? I know you get a certificate in aeroskills with the ADF which I believe is the same required for the civilian position.

If I were to leave the ADF oneday (not planning to as it seems a great career) would my military qualification meet the requirements of an AME / LAME? or would I have to do an apprenticship?

I know to get your LAME licence you have to fill out an 'experience' logbook and sit exams, can these be done thorugh the ADF or are they all different again?

Any information would be great. Just want to be able to keep my options open.

Next question is, what is the future of the aircraft maintenance engineer? Will there be a shortage in jobs in the future? what is the long term pay like? Can I switch from airline maintenance to general aviation (light aircraft) or vice versa without much hassel?

Im sure I will think of more questions.

best regards.

AvionicsGuy
31st Jul 2010, 13:23
You need to sit CTC exams when you leave the RAAF, and i assume show a record of experience, how long or how much is needed i do not know.

Have a look on the casa website under maintenance and personal, it should give you some information.

As for instant AME recognition i dont know if you would get that, but i would assume so.

This all could change however when they convert to the EASA maintenance system....

piggybank
31st Jul 2010, 21:15