PDA

View Full Version : HEMS safety issues for Thesis research

HEMS research
21st Jul 2010, 10:34
Dear HEMS pilots,

I am doing a thesis research (@ Cranfield University) about the safety issues in HEMS operations. Speciffically about the on-scene landing and take-off phase of the HEMS flight.

I am trying to get pilots views and perceptions about this phase of flight.

To do this, I am arranging interviews with HEMS pilots (in the UK). If you are a HEMS pilot and would like to contribute to this research, please contact me!

(I am able to travel, but phone interviews can be done as well)

Thanks for your help guys.... Keep up the good work!!!!

SASless
21st Jul 2010, 12:09
For a bit of contrast you might contact some of the US Based EMS associations about their LZ critieria and training standards, or perhaps equivalent groups in Australia. The differences might be significant and provide a valuable tool to seek what could be an "Industry Best Practice" concept for you. Recall the USA and Oz are 24 hour services and not limited to Day only.

Bertie Thruster
21st Jul 2010, 19:24
In my experience the take off phase is more critical in regards to flight safety than the initial landing:

The aircraft is heavier plus more power needed than on landing.

The 2 extra pairs of eyes are busy with the casualty.

The low level (250ft) fast jet airspace is more difficult to check.

Lots of doors have been opened on the ground and shut by various people.

The front left seat is probably unoccupied.

The way out and up is probably not the way down and in.

Strong wires can be quite thin.

The casualty is screaming.

SASless
22nd Jul 2010, 00:44
The low level (250ft) fast jet airspace is more difficult to check.

The casualty is screaming.

Done a lot of HEMES flying 'ave yer Mate?

What Limits
22nd Jul 2010, 02:42
Actually mate, he has.

I can concur wiv' wot 'e said.

I would add "The casualty is screaming" and/or fighting with the paramedics.

And