PDA

View Full Version : IREX help

Nick1
18th Jul 2010, 00:19
I am studying for the CASA IREX and have come across something that I can`t seem to get a definite answer for.

Jeppesen Terminal AU26 5.3.3 states "Where the forecast area QNH is used, the forecast Terminal QNH minima used must be increased by 50ft.

The way I read it is if you use area QNH then 50ft must be added to every minima MDA/H and ALTERNATE minima which would make sense for the inaccuracies of the AREA QNH and forecast.

But my teacher seems to believe that it is only to the MDA, and cant find anyone who knows. If it was for MDA it should state MDA but it doesn`t thats why I am lead to believe it is for all minimas including ALTERNATE.

If anyone has a definite answer to this please let me know.

Thanks.

PPRuNeUser0163
18th Jul 2010, 03:09
Nick1,

pretty sure (happy to be corrected if wrong) that if local qnh is not available you would add the 50ft onto mda/dh and the alternate minima.

Makes sense as if your charts are shaded (ASA) you can subtract the 100ft off the mda/dh and the same can be done for the alternate criteria.

Nick1
18th Jul 2010, 03:14
Well thats how I read it but my instructor/cfi/ato seems to think otherwise.

I just have the exam this week and this is the only thing he doesn`t agree with me on.

Thanks.

The Green Goblin
18th Jul 2010, 03:25
The alternate minima is just that, the alternate minima. You don't need to add anything to it at all. If you need to shoot an approach and you don't have QNH from an approved source then you add 50 feet to the minima.