PDA

View Full Version : When to descend while on a visual approach...?

FlyKingfisher
13th Jul 2010, 14:34
Hello everyone. I'm new to this forum, so please excuse any mistakes or non-compliances.

I am not a professional pilot, but am very interested in aviation. I am a simmer and I sim a lot on MS FS2004. My dilemma while flying on MSFS is 'when to descend'... In any case, I always wanted to know when a pilot decides to descend while on a visual approach.

Supposing, eg, you are cleared for a visual approach to a runway at 2000 ft, when do you start your descent and at what rate? I know MSFS has its limitations, but I would appreciate if a professional pilot can answer my question.

Do you manually make the aircraft descend using the control yoke/sidestick or do you set a minimum altitude and then a rate of descent on the V/S? I know that the rate of descent must not exceed 1000 fpm, it should be around 600-800 fpm...

carbheatout
13th Jul 2010, 14:44
start from 3,500ft (generally always 1,500ft above aerodrome level, terrain permitting).

When going downwind. 20 seconds after passing the throshold of the landing runway select gear down and intermediate flap. 45 seconds after passing the throshold runway start your turn onto final approach. As you pass throgh 45 degrees (of the 180 degree) of turn required to line up with the runway, you should become visual with the runway. At this point start a gentle 300-400fpm rate of descent and select landing flap. When fully configured with landing flap go down at a rate that is half your groundspeed. So for example if you ar 160 knots go down at 800FPM. If you are 140 knots go down at 700fpm.

Nubboy
13th Jul 2010, 15:18
It all depends............