PDA

View Full Version : Getting Started

SgtBundy
12th Jul 2010, 02:57
Not sure if this should be under Wannabes, but I was looking for more of a local audience.

Any rate, after 10 years in IT I am feeling the urge to return to my original dreams of aviation. I originally aimed for the RAAF but got knocked back, and didn't have the finances to start out flying when I left school. I did about 4 hours in gliders while I was in the AIRTC and a few spots of powered flying, but mostly I am a PC pilot. Recently I have got interested again and I got a gift of an hour in a 737 simulator. The instructors positive feedback on my flying have encouraged me to have a real go.

My original plan was to try for a Jetstar or Qantas cadetship, tough it out financially for 18 months to get through the training and hopefully work up from there. The reality of having to support my family with no income sort of shot that. Also the many threads covering the cadetships also helped frame what I was really aiming for.

So, now I am looking at doing training off my own bat part time, aiming to get the PPL and an MECIR rating to open up options and then trying to build hours for a CPL. Once there, see if I can get any leg ups to broaden my aviation horizons.

My questions are:

1. Are there many opportunities to build hours other than off my own initiative?
2. Are there real prospects for me to get employment that I could support a family with using the above plan?
3. Can anyone recommend a flying school at Bankstown or Camden? I see there is plenty of variation in the costs just off the various websites.

Any advice or information appreciated.

Thanks,
A starry eyed newbie.

Atlas Shrugged
12th Jul 2010, 03:31
Can anyone recommend a flying school at Bankstown or Camden? I see there is plenty of variation in the costs just off the various websites.

:ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh::ugh:

Almost made it through a full week without this old chestnut!

after 10 years in IT