PDA

View Full Version : Class 1 and Allergies

FlyEJF
1st Jul 2010, 08:19
Hello,

Can someone tell me whether a dust mite/cat allergy will mean a fail at the class 1 medical?

Thanks

Ed

despegue
1st Jul 2010, 10:27
No, it will not. But just in case, don't bring it up.

the dean
1st Jul 2010, 13:59
i had allergies for years and never mentioned it...:oh:....(but then i do'nt fly for a living but have a CPL and class 1) and one day they went away...so perhaps best not said (though strictly speaking i suppose you should conceal nothing)...:=

i suppose you have to look at ......a).... are you on medication for your allergic reactions. that would be important bacause some antihistamines could make you drowsy....some may not...( i am not a doctor but used several over the years)

furthermore...b) ....what kind of reactions do you get..??sneezing/running nose/streaming eyes....if the reaction was one that might affect your flying abilities...then it would be important to mention your allergic reaction....despite the possible consequences.....:eek:

maybe a medico on here would answer you to help to remove doubt. it might well be that the doc at the medical would consider your condition not to be a problem and might even suggest an antihistamine that the licencing authority would consider acceptable to a pilot for occasional use .....in which case you would feel better for not concealing anything.....:)

from my recollection, i was told that most people are allergic to house dust mites ....

always i think best err on the cautious side....

Raptor_
2nd Jul 2010, 07:32