PDA

View Full Version : RFDS Interview

klhohnen
7th Jun 2010, 18:36
Hi Friends,
itīs the first time i use PPRuNe and i am not sure if that is the right forum.
If not sorry.

I am a german commercial pilot (TT ca. 3000h, IFR MEP ca. 1000h) and since some years I wish to get a job by the RFDS in Australia. In the last years i visited several bases of this company. So I sent an application in April. Some days ago I get an invitation for an interview and for a simulator test. Now, i am very happy to get this chance.

So, if anybody can give me some tips it would be very fine.

Thanks for help

Klhohnen

frigatebird
7th Jun 2010, 21:11
Good Luck.

I am an Australian Commercial pilot, and wouldn't mind a job with them either..

Seems Australian operators prefer to hire from overseas these days - look at all the Kiwis here - so you should do well.

MD_Attitude
7th Jun 2010, 23:26
I have heard that they do their interviews in melbourne at the old ansett sim centre.the sim is very pitchy and so unlike actually flying a real king air.So there fore if u havent flown a king air then it shouldnt be any problem.
i would presonally suggest to go there a day in advance and book a sim time for an hour or if you got a mate who can share the sim with you then go for it.
they get you to do a ndb rwy 16 and the ILS. just make sure you know the approaches for melbourne and melb Essendon pretty good.It all happens very quick so make sure you know what to do.
its a half an hour sim check and sort of an hour interview by three guys.
know your IFR procedures thoroughly ,LSALT ,DR etc etc
all the best

neville_nobody
8th Jun 2010, 00:51
I'd be looking at non aid aerodromes, lighting and stuff like that as it is very applicable to the RFDS

morno
8th Jun 2010, 02:03
Which section?
Do you hold a CASA CPL?
Do you know the rules etc. for flying in Australia?