PDA

View Full Version : which way

ZimAir09
27th May 2010, 13:53
This may seem a stupid Question that i should figure out my self, but i would like to hear what you have to say, especially if you have been or are in my situation.
I am in my 3rd year of university and will come out with a bachelor of business with only a single major in management, but if i stay another year i can get a double degree with a bachelor of accounting. I am 20 and have done a few hours flying and am paying my own way. so i guess my question is do i stay in uni paying for it, then do my flight training or do i just finish up the one degree and go into flying. i don't mind the uni work, but i don't know if it will be of any use when im in the flying as aviation is the only industry that i have any interest in.
thanks in advance..

redsnail
27th May 2010, 14:17
My initial reaction is to suggest you stay in Uni and get the double. I can't remember what the HECS fees are in Oz these days.
You'll be 21-22 by the time you've finished the degree(s).

Don't worry, you definitely won't be too old to start training.

I would then get a job, ideally using the degrees. Whether or not it's within the industry is immaterial. Do that for a year or so to save some cash and probably more importantly, get some life experience.
Working and saving is a good plan. You may need a year off from studying just to regroup. :)

You can either train part time, full time or in blocks of full time (ie using leave etc) and then see what happens.

Bruce Wayne
27th May 2010, 19:48
Stay in uni. especially at the moment oak.

(flew quite a bit out of FVCP a couple of years back.)

ZimAir09
28th May 2010, 00:33
thanks for the guidance, just another question, what sway does having a degree have on job advancement within an airline, i mean once ive done the hours and am sitting in the right hand seat of a heavy?

G SXTY
28th May 2010, 06:59