PDA

View Full Version : China Airlines

banditdog1
19th May 2010, 16:38
To Whomever May Be Able To Answer My Questions:
1.) I've been invited to the screening process with China Airlines in Taipei. With no knowledge of whether they were hiring or not, I simplt completed their online application and about one month later, they wrote back confirming I met their requirements. I've been flying the B-747 (all models) since 1984. I haven't actually flown the B-744 since the end of August 2008. I had to leave another Foreign carrier because my 15 year old Son wound up in long term hospitalization and as such, I chose not to be away for extended periods of time. He is back home and doing much better. I am looking forward to China Airlines. I realize they aren't the best gig out there dollar wise, but I understand they're quite pleasant to deal with personally and in the cockpit and simulator.
2.) I have been given no indication with regard to what I can expect in the simulator for the screening flight. If someone knows their scenario, please share. Also, if there are any other non c urrent pilots who went through the process, can you tell me if they modify the simulator screening and take in consideration that the candidate has been away from the aircraft for quite a while. I've been flying a Falcon Jet on a contract basis since leaving the Far East in September 2008.
3.) Does Taiwan require a written exam when acquiring their license, based on my FAA license? I have 11 Type Ratings including those in the classic and B-747-400. I'm just trying to get a handle on what to expect.