PDA

View Full Version : MS Activation

Sprogget
17th May 2010, 18:20
My nephew has asked me something I can't answer - he's bought a copy of Flight sim x from Amazon. It's definitely a legit copy, I've seen the box & discs etc. however, there is no product key, so he can't activate it.

Consequently it kicks him out every ten minutes or so. he emailed Amazon & they refunded him without question, but he still has the game, they don't want it back, so he looked into getting a replacement key. It seems from searching that if the product identification code is blank in the help screen (it is) then the game has never been activated, suggesting that the missing key is just a snafu at the factory.

Would MS give him a replacement? Not really my thing computer games, but I have to say, what I've seen of it looks stunning!

FN-GM
17th May 2010, 18:22
Hi,

I work in IT. This as happened before with other Microsoft products. If you call the activation line, prove you purchased the software legit, send a few scans and pics to show you have no key and they will send another. If the software disc or box has it own serial they will ask for that.

Sprogget
17th May 2010, 18:32
Great, thanks - we'll give it a go.

al446
17th May 2010, 19:13
Let me get this right Sprogget. He bought a product that was not as described, got a refund so had not really purchased it at all, still has the product minus activation (the reason for refund) and you are asking us law abiding people to assist in getting it working. Correct?

Now that your nephew has his refund he can go out and buy a legitimate copy with activation can he not?

He could have got the copy without activation without going through the whole Amazon experience by downloading the trial version, essentially what he has now. The good news is that MS will provide the code, bad news is it costs, probably more than he would pay at Amazon or Play.com.

frostbite
17th May 2010, 19:47
us law abiding people