PDA

View Full Version : Stall Speed at Altitude and Sea level

jhurditch
21st Apr 2010, 05:16
Hi guys,

Can anyone spare some time for my amateur questions on Airspeed and Stall speeds.

I am aware that IAS is the airspeed shown by the ASI. Am I also correct to say that IAS will reduce with altitude? I am trying to find the stall speed for a Q400 (I can't find it published anywhere). To be rough about it, I read in a flight test evaluation article that it stalled at 15000 feet at 102 knots. I would like to therefor find the stall speed for it at sea level so used TAS = IAS sqrt p at sea level on row at altitude. I got round about 128 knots at sea level. I am however surprised that this is higher than the stall speed at altitude. Obviously I am interpreting the information incorrectly. Therefor, is stall speed somehow not related to this velocity at sea level?

Any help is much appreciated (I am in first year Aircraft Engineering)

Cheers

Aviast
21st Apr 2010, 07:21
G'day jhurditch,

I'm no engineer but I think I can answer this one.
Let's say:
the Q400 in question weighs the same at sea level as at FL150
lift is equal to weight in level, unaccelerated flightTherefore we can say that the lift must be the same at both levels.

The lift equation is:

L = CL˝ρV2S

Where:

CL = the coefficient of lift of the wing. This is determined by the designer.
ρ = (rho) the density of the air. We can find this in ICAO Doc 7488. 1.225 kg/m3 at sea level.
V = the true airspeed. According to my Jepp CR-3 (Same as an E6-B) 102 KIAS is equal to 128 KTAS.
S = the surface area of the wing. This is set by the designer (64.1 m3 for the Q400)

Since CL and S are fixed we can ignore them and just say that Lift is proportional to ˝ρV2 which happens to have it's own name: q, or "dynamic pressure". q is the total air pressure at a point minus the static pressure or, in other words: indicated airspeed!