PDA

View Full Version : RAF/ATC Air Experience Flights (AEF)

LHR747
29th Mar 2010, 22:38
To all military and AEF pilots.

[Note: AEF flights are where cadets in the Combined Cadet Force (CCF) and Air Training Corps (ATC) are taken up for 25 minute air experience flights (AEF) in order to stimulate an interest in aviation and the RAF.]

Last year there were two tragic mid-air collisions involving the Grob Tutor aircraft, where 3 young ATC cadets and 3 AEF pilots lost their lives. Since then it is understood that a number of changes have been made to the way AEF flights are operated in order to address these two accidents and the safety shortfall in AEF operations.

As an ATC Training Officer I have been asked by the parents of a number of cadets what these specific changes are. Whilst I have been given some information it would be interesting to hear from any pilots, whether civilian or military who operate AEF flights, what changes they have implemented to date.

Many thanks
LHR747

gijoe
29th Mar 2010, 22:46
:eek:

:uhoh:

:D

:=

...and have it punched over the front page of the Sun - no thanks!

:ok:

ibbi
29th Mar 2010, 22:48
I'd suggest that you should contact your Wing HQ, and ask the WgExO to provide the info you need..... that way you can be sure of the accuracy of the information provided.

gijoe
29th Mar 2010, 22:50
Correct answer.

gazellemiester
29th Mar 2010, 23:01
In addition to the WgExO, try your Wing Flying and Gliding Liaison Officer who (I would imagine) will also have information at their fingertips.

I am also pretty sure that if you were still struggling then a polite telephone call to your local AEF Commander would also ellicite some info for you. :ok:

Jackonicko
30th Mar 2010, 00:18
The first thing to tell any parent is that there never was a "safety shortfall in AEF operations", and that the recent changes to the operation have merely improved what was already an extremely sharp and safe operation.

And that from a journo.

Old-Duffer