PDA

View Full Version : IPhone and Junk mail

Chicken Leg
13th Mar 2010, 13:03
I'm new to the Iphone and although I'm very happy with it, one aspect is driving me crazy!

I have set up a couple of email accounts to be forwarded to the phone, but my main personal email account on the phone also receives all the junk mail that is filtered out on my laptop/PC. I'm getting around 50 email per day on the phone, and 90% of them are spam that are automatically filtered into the Spam Folder on the server, but appear to be being sent to the Iphone.

How can I stop this??

Thanks in advance.

call100
13th Mar 2010, 14:12
You are obviously using an email address from a provider that doesn't filter spam at source. Consider Gmail or GMX or in fact anyone that does actually filter at source. To be honest if you are getting that much spam, it's probably time to change your email anyway...I don't get spam via my email provider so none comes onto the phone....:ok: As far as I know, there is no filter list on the phone, then again I've never had occasion to look for one...;)
Good luck...

Chicken Leg
13th Mar 2010, 15:16
I'm using BT Internet!

Keef
13th Mar 2010, 16:05
There you go!

Get yourself a Gmail account, set the BT Internet account to forward everything to Gmail, which will filter it for you.

You can then set up the Gmail account as an Imap on your iPhone, and the same on the home PC, so you have all your "stuff" to hand wherever you happen to be.

Chicken Leg
13th Mar 2010, 17:07
call100, Keef,

Thanks for your help.

spannersatcx
13th Mar 2010, 18:20
I'm using BT Internet! So am I, if you go to online mail access there are spam filters that can be set up, I very rarely get spam coming through but my spam box fills up rapidly.

Chicken Leg
14th Mar 2010, 20:58
spannersatcx

I think you may have missed my point. On my BT Internet server page, the majority of the spam does go to the the Spam Box, but for some reason, it still gets forwarded to my phone.