PDA

View Full Version : i'm an AME student n got a doubt plz help me

shivaAME
9th Mar 2010, 14:26
wat are the checks carried out on an aircraft after a flight?

purgatore75
9th Mar 2010, 14:55
Usually on modern transport aa/cc at the end of a fully flights day the aircraft stops for at least 6/10 hrs usually during night; during this period of ground time maintenance staff starts a pre-determined checks involving all kind of fluid servicing, operational checks of all a/c systems and checks for any discrepancies found by the flight crews during all the daily flights. This kind of work is called DAILY CHECK and last for 24h. This kind of maintenance tasks are aimed to re-new the airworthiness of the a/c for the following days. An a/c is considered NOT aiworthy if has its daily check expired!!! Then you can have Weekly checks, monthly checks called A checks and so on deeper and deeper in degrees of inspections; all of those periodic checks usually ends with a complete revision (in hangars) of the structure during which the a/c metal skin is completely removed, paint removed, engines removed, interiors (seats, carpets, bin lockers, galleys, toilettes removed, etc...) all removed, in order to revise all the components searching for any fault or cracks. They are called C and D checks; N.B. For a "D check" an a/c can be grounded at least for 1 month....
All those checks are scheduled by the company owner with the authority and are resumed into a book called Maintenance Program Book. Each a/c strictly follows its own maintenance program otherwise the authority must verify satis its airworthiness to let the company continue flying with that a/c. Hope It was all clear.....:p
Any other questions?

spannersatcx
9th Mar 2010, 17:27
at the end of a fully flights day the aircraft stops for at least 6/10 hrs usually during night this may be for shorthaul.