PDA

View Full Version : Pilot and Nurse

lmtrouble
15th Feb 2010, 23:51
Hi, just wondering if anybody could give me some advice.
I am a commercial Helicopter Pilot and also an Emergency/ICU nurse.
I have recently put in my application as Navy Pilot and I put 'Nurse' as my 2nd preference. I thought that if I don't make it through the process as pilot this time, I could go in as a nurse and then try and swap over in a year or so.
Some people have told me this is a good idea, and others are saying that it will be nearly impossible to swap over once they have assigned me a job.
Should I get the nurse preference off the application and just go for pilot?
I really want to join the Navy and I wouldn't mind nursing for a little while longer but ultimately I want to be a pilot (especially since I just spent $60,000 on a license).
If I don't make it through PSA this time, will I be able to try again?
Any advice on this would be greatly appreciated :ok:

L J R
16th Feb 2010, 00:10
...and here is me thinking this would bring back distant memories of my Pilot Officer days...(at RAAF Richmond)..

Cougar
16th Feb 2010, 02:00
Nice one LJR :ok:

3CSH certainly served a 'purpose' now, didn't it?

Roller Merlin
16th Feb 2010, 03:00
Imtrouble,

it depends on how motivated you are for a Navy flying lifestyle - it is unusual but not silly to apply for both. If you really want to join up, my advice is to put all your efforts into getting to FSP first, and make sure the recruiters know it. This also demonstrates motivation to fly. Most other applicants will opt for Observer as second flying preference - you should seriously consider this on your application - Observer is a very challenging front seat role in the Navy (they need to have basic helo flying skills also)- the various selection boards may think twice if you have the option to jump back into the "easy option" of nursing when the mil training gets tough.