PDA

View Full Version : Advice needed please

munners455
10th Feb 2010, 20:55
Hi guys

I'm currently going through my PPL training, paying for it lesson by lesson when I can afford it. (Decided against a loan after reading various other threads).

I am currently an Engineer for a rail company which is fairly well
paid, decent hours, etc but incredibly boring. Previous to my current
job, I was an Airframe/Propulsion Technician in the RAF for 6 years.
(I finished my A level's with good grades but decided against going in
as an EngO so I could get hands on engineering experience).

I would like advice on what to do once I have completed my PPL? Be
safe in the knowledge that I have achieved my dream of being able to
fly myself and, enjoy it as a leisure pursuit whilst the economic
situation hopefully improves? Or go for gold and commit thousands of
pounds for further flight training to gain CPL, ATPL and hopefully a job at the end of it. I don't mind playing the long game, I'd take any flying job just to build hours/experience. That is some distance in the future I know.

Any words of advice or stories of how others have made their way
through training would be much appreciated.

I appreciate no one has a crystal ball.

Many thanks.

Whirlygig
10th Feb 2010, 21:00
I'd play the long game if I were you; there's no rush at the moment. Enjoy your PPL, build some hours and experience and only then decide if you want to keep flying as a hobby or want to progress further.

Cheers

Whirls

munners455
10th Feb 2010, 21:03
Thanks Whirls,

Reassuring to hear. :ok:

Munners

student88
10th Feb 2010, 21:48
I agree with Whirls, don't jump ship. I don't envy you having a boring job but if it's well paid and fairly safe stay there. You may not realise it but you're probably in the best position you could be in at the moment.