PDA

View Full Version : Ice in Fuel

Oldtechie
9th Feb 2010, 17:45
Hullo,

It has been a long time since I was on these forums so please forgive me if this subject has already been covered or I am posting in the wrong place.

It is also a long time since I was associated with aircraft.

However I saw today a news story about the report on the Boeing 777 accident. I read that it was caused by ice in the fuel causing reduction of fuel to the engines and that this was not known as a problem at the time. That comment prompts this message.

In the mid 1960s I was a junior technician [radar] on Valiant bombers. As part of a starter crew one of the things I had to do was check that air was issuing from vents on the side of the aircraft and give a thumbs up to the crew chief when it did. Being curious, I eventually asked the reason for this, to me, meaningless ritual. The chief explained that fuel contained small amounts of water which might freeze and the crystals of ice would clog the fuel filters and the engines would be starved of fuel. The airflow I was checking was the heating for the filters.

Thing is if this problem was known in the 1960s and solved then why is it a problem in a modern airliner?

Just a puzzled X radar guy.

Rigga
9th Feb 2010, 19:55
Hi OT,

This particular airrfame and engine combination had not had this issue prior to this event - the two had made it through icing tests some years ago and got type certification from FAA and EASA (et al). No doubt testing for this condition will be (should be) added to new Type certification tests.

This icing apparently occurred due to a lack of normal fuel-flow variations and a stagnation of unheated fuel in cold pipes, causing fuel waxing. When the waxed fuel did move, it then clogged the heater matrix and caused fuel starvation.

Strange how more, similar, events were only reported afterwards?