PDA

View Full Version : Ground school question

ACARS
26th Nov 2009, 17:05
I can't attend any night school classes at a local airfield as I am travelling every week with work. I need to teach myself.

Anyone go the effort of making a training plan in excel for teaching ground school? (checklist on key topics or something similar?

Do people sit all the exams at once or space them apart over several weeks?

Just figuring out the best way to structure my self taught. Maybe one module at a time? Any advise?

My goal is to have them complete by April 2010.

Cheers

Ryan5252
26th Nov 2009, 17:21
From my own views; I can't see the need for Excel unless you are teaching other people, if you intend on using it for yourself your thinking of things way too much! Just get a confuser and book for the exam you are studying, read it cover to cover two or three times and do the test in confuser. Revise areas which need attention and repeat as desired. You should get all exams out of the way in the winter i.e. before Feb. Good Luck! :ok:

joelgarabedian
26th Nov 2009, 17:22
Hi ACARS,

Do you mean PPL ground exams? I didn't use ground school either - I bought the Trevor Thom books and a subscription to AirQuiz, and that saw me through :)

I found it easier to concentrate on one subject at a time, although towards the end I started working through The Aircraft General whilst simultaneously studying for Flight Performance and Planning.

The AirQuiz site is pretty good - although the questions have a different feel than the actual exams, I found them quite good at indicating when I was ready for each test.

Hope this helps,

Joel.

batninth
26th Nov 2009, 18:33
Hi ACARS

I echo what Joel has said. In my case I too used the Trevor Thom books (it doesn't matter, the others are as good), I did a module at a time, and because I was doing the NPPL(M) exams I used the test questions from Wriggley's which were superb.