PDA

View Full Version : Nppl? Safe?

waspsad
15th Nov 2009, 20:09
Im a newbie to this forum and have spent hours going through all the useful information here. I am just looking to fly recreationally so looking at the NPPL, maybe upgrade to PPL in the future if i feel like challenging myself that bit more. Of course while flying we all like to keep safe, and i was just wondering by doing the NPPL am i putting myself at more risk than if i did the PPL because i havent had as many training hours? Are there any others who went for the NPPL on here for reasons other than medical?

many thanks :ok:

Genghis the Engineer
15th Nov 2009, 20:42
The NPPL is essentially the old UK Microlight PPL extended to light aeroplanes - and as such the test standards are the same, and pretty high: just a slightly thinner syllabus and lower medical standard.

So far as I know, the standards of microlight pilots pre-NPPL was pretty much as high as the PPL(A) as was, and the standards now are indistinguishable.

So, in my opinion, an NPPL(SEP) holder is on average neither more, nor less, safe than a JAR PPL(SEP) - they can just do a little less with their licence.

G

IO540
15th Nov 2009, 20:51
they can just do a little less with their licence.

Not being able to (easily) fly abroad?

Gertrude the Wombat
15th Nov 2009, 21:31
Whilst the minimum legal hours for an NPPL are lower than for a PPL I believe it's generally reckoned that most people won't get the NPPL in the minimum hours any more easily than they'll get the PPL in minimum hours. So the only real benefit is an easier medical. So I would not expect to find a vast number of people choose the NPPL for other reasons?

IO540
15th Nov 2009, 22:03
Indeed; I recall reading some numbers a year or two ago, showing that 2/3 of the NPPL applicants were PPL holders who either failed or did not wish to continue their CAA Class 2 medical.