PDA

View Full Version : CFX

eagle21
22nd Oct 2009, 11:59
Ciao everyone,

Apologies for not writing in Italian but I am still learning it. Quick question:

When travelling on AZ(or CAI as you prefer...) as CFX is it a common rule to introduce yourself to the Captain and purser?
I do travel a lot as CFX and lately I find a look of indiference everytime I introduce myself ad pursers tend not to invite me to say hello to the pilots anymore?
Has anything changed recently?? Are things changing for the worst like in the UK, where introducing yourself is seen as a request for an upgrade?? Hope not.

Regards,

eagle

JetMcQuack
22nd Oct 2009, 13:26
Is it the same when travelling with AirOne operated flights?

Tiennetti
22nd Oct 2009, 18:02
I use to travel as CFX once o twice a month with AZA since the lasts 4 years

I usually introduce myself to the purser and sometimes he/she invite me to talk with the pilots, sometimes not
It ussually happens when flying on MD80's
I suppose it depends totally on the purser
I should say that most of the times i talked with the pilots, they invited me to sit in bussiness class

However i always travel without my uniform, and introduce myself as a "colleague", so there is the possibility (i suppose) that they think i'm a FA, so they consider not important to speak with the pilots

lenzuolo
22nd Oct 2009, 20:50
I once travelled AZ on an ID50 as a FA brother (not on duty there) without introducing myself: the captain sent the P1 to tell me how impolite I had been.

Must be personal...

main_dog
22nd Oct 2009, 21:16
Having worked in AZ for 7 years (although I since have moved elsewhere) perhaps I can shed some light on the issue... the AZ "General Basic" (ie Operations Manual) states that off-duty AZ crew SHALL introduce themselves to the Captain. This is so the operating flight crew know that there are extra crewmembers available should the need arise (unruly pax, pilot incapacitation etc).