PDA

View Full Version : Sexist and childish posts!!!

britannia66
20th Jun 2001, 21:25
I am an airline pilot [male] who occasionally reads the other Prune pages. Why are the military pages often so very immature and childish? They are usually very sexist and and at times racist. If you doubt me, read the present "Woman" page. In the year 2001 these entries are disgraceful! I know they are meant to be funny but they are insulting, and, in the cases where names are mentioned, in my view illegal. Senior military officiers or Capt. Prune must do something to stop this rubbish!

slim boy fat
20th Jun 2001, 21:32
Go away, you pc plonker http://www.pprune.org/ubb/NonCGI/tongue.gif

Green Bottle
20th Jun 2001, 21:44
If you don't like it don't read it. No one is forcing you to read the mil pages. If you look at the number of threads the mil forum has you will see how popular it is - so maybe childish, as you put it, is what people want.

Whipping Boy's SATCO
20th Jun 2001, 22:05
As these are anonymous forums the origins of the contributions may be opposite to what may be apparent. In fact the press may use it, or the unscrupulous, to elicit certain reactions.

Chris Kebab
20th Jun 2001, 22:15
...plus the fact that about 50% of the posters here are as close to being aircrew as I am to being a brain surgeon.

Baseball
20th Jun 2001, 22:21
Ah! God bless the military sense of humour! If it weren't for it, life would be quite dull! (Mil senior officer, GSOH!)

greenie
20th Jun 2001, 22:32
If it wasn't for the military's childish sense of humour things would have ground to a halt years ago.
Morale is low enough at times as it is and if we can't find ways of making light of the situations we find ourselves in we may as well pack up and go home.
What works in civvy street don't work here!!

Stress Snake
20th Jun 2001, 22:33
Britannia66 most of this stuff is called banter (playful good humoured teasing). Part of mil life.