PDA

View Full Version : Falcon to Russia

lelac
24th Sep 2009, 23:49
Hi guys, I am quite new to this part of PPRuNe. Think of another airline pilot that just started in the world of corporate flying. I am flying a Falcon 2000 to St. petersburg and Moscow in a couple of days. We have the support from ARINC and Universal. Other than visas and lots of money for the fees, do you guys have any tips and/or suggestions?

lear60fellow
25th Sep 2009, 01:12
stay calm, is russia, things are different but easy going, donīt desperate.
On arrival donīt open the door until customs gets to the aircraft, have all passport ready to deliver to them.
On requesting start up it takes a while, just call once.
They fly on meters and QFE
ILS intercepts are 90š not 45š so be ready for final turn
On final tell them gear down and locked, if not you donīt get your landing clearance
always wait for Marshaller for taxi, land and take off.

Russia is great

Flintstone
25th Sep 2009, 01:13
Without wishing to appear pissy how did you find yourself in this position? Surely someone in your organisation has a clue?

Seriously. If neither of the two of you up front has any experience of this I'd be getting in an experienced old hand. Will it sost money? Yes. Will it be worth it? You have no idea.

galaxy flyer
25th Sep 2009, 02:14
Get a thorough briefing on QFE operations. The DA 2000 should be able to select meters and accommodate a QFE setting so that you can just operate in QFE, which is way simpler than doing all the conversions.