PDA

View Full Version : Minimum requirements for a Lance/Saratoga

Bounceferret
16th Sep 2009, 14:38
G'day

Wondering generally what the minimum experience requirement would be to get checked out in a lance/saratoga.
I understand this varies considerably from AD to AD and depends on the insurance companies but am just after a ballpark answer

I'm Relatively new to the aviation world NVFR 120TT 35 CSU

Thanks

aseanaero
16th Sep 2009, 15:04
A lot of it will get back to insurance and owner requirements now for hiring the aircraft to you.

I was let loose on a C210 with 107hrs TT 13 hrs CSU which I flew from Parafield to Olympic Dam , Tennant Creek and other remote locations with low total time. It was owned by the flying school I trained with from scratch (Rossair) and they were comfortable with me being endorsed on the aircraft and taking it on long cross country trips. Flying a C210 after the 172 and 172RG put a BIG smile on my face.

I guess current wisdom would say 250 hrs ?

-

goldypilot
16th Sep 2009, 21:28
yer its not space shuttle so a fresh cpl should do the trick. The old lanceliner is a beast. why would you want to fly one of them??

*Lancer*
16th Sep 2009, 23:24
Try ringing up an operator... I remember getting checked out as soon as I got my PPL (60 hours or so). What's the point spending all your time going cross country at 110kts when you can do it at 150kts? -- with an extra 2 seats! :) Makes for a much more practical way of getting cross country time.

Sunfish
16th Sep 2009, 23:26
Did the Lance endorsement around 100 hours PIC and did one flight review in it as well.

CitationJet
17th Sep 2009, 01:46
Here are some indicative requirements for BE-36 and PA-32.

Single Engine Aircraft for hire - Howe Aircraft (http://www.bluedemon.com.au/singles.htm)

Bounceferret
17th Sep 2009, 01:53
Thanks guys

Sounds like somewhere from where I am up to and around CPL. I'll ring Moorabbin and see what they have to say.