PDA

View Full Version : Bush piloting in Australia

JNN
13th Sep 2009, 18:13
Hi i am a swedish student pilot who is looking into bush flying in Australia and i could use some help. Will soon have my CPL:A with night qualification. 150 hours about 10 hours instrument flying. 50 CC PIC. 5 hours Night.

Any experience in OZ bush flying would be very nice to hear, if someone have some knowledge about conversion to be able to fly in OZ that would be realy nice.
Do i Need to convert yo FAA?

And about the jobsearch. Do i need ATPL:A IR and/or ME?

What region in OZ should i go to, to find a job ? Are there any perticular hotspots?

Would like to add something that came up. My flight school is in sweden yes. But all the literature and the examinations are though Oxford. One of the brittish flight schools and they stand under CASA to right? would i still need to get a Aussie CPL?

will be very happy for any reply. Thanks beforehand // JNN

tail wheel
13th Sep 2009, 19:27
Do i Need to convert yo FAA?

No, you would require an Australian CPL/ATPL.

What region in OZ should i go to, to find a job ?

Use the forum search function. There is a surplus of low time pilots in Australia and it would be unlikely you will find employment as a pilot.

You will not be granted a Visa to work in Australia as a commercial pilot.

Wanderin_dave
13th Sep 2009, 23:13
Whoa! Way to shoot a guy down Tail Wheel!

While I know it will be extremely hard (damn near impossible) for an 18 year old Swede to find flying work, you are wrong on the Visa info. Swedes are able to apply for the working holdiay visa scheme which would meet the visa requirments to work as a pilot.

Hell if I was an 18 year old Swede i'd do it, what the worst that could happen? Get stuck in sunny QLD for a year without flying......not too bad!! :ok:

Not that Sweden ain't bad. I spent 3 awesome years living there!

tinpis
13th Sep 2009, 23:47
He could find verk as a Chef ja?

Boom...boom!