PDA

View Full Version : Best 2 seater and 4 seater training aircraft

No RYR for me
8th Sep 2009, 11:05
I am a bit lost at the moment in the training aircraft scene and have mainly been fooling around on the 152 and 172 for training purposes and the BE76 for the ME stuff.

If you had to buy a 2 and a 4 seater training aircraft. What would you buy and why. Even better if you can help me on the advantage disadvantage of some of the new types around :ok:

foxmoth
8th Sep 2009, 11:23
Very much depends on what you are looking for. Personally as an instructor I would aim for the Robin range (2160 and Dr400/500), but as a businessman I would probably not go there due to the support issues so you get back to Cessna/Piper rubbish, apart from the Robin range (and not sure exactly where these are at the mo) there does not seem to be much new on the market that I would class as a good training Aircraft, most nice handling newbuild aircraft now seem to be homebuilts!

greenno
8th Sep 2009, 18:56
I would buy two airplane from same builder, maintenance cost will be reduced and is more easy a transition for student.

For me:

Best Option C152-172 first one have a long engine time between overhaul "TBO", is easy to fly and funny. C172 is very versatile and you can use it also in aerial work (tow banner , aerial photo...), of course you can get one with G1000 to IFR training.

Second only if you like Piper. Tomahawk "tomasa" in my country :ok: and one Piper 28 with unless 160 HP. I never have flied one Tomasa but I think is a dangerous airplane to show STALL. Piper 28 for me inside is not very comfortable you are dived inside.

MEP for me better due cheap maintenance Piper Twin Comanche, or from Cessna my favourite training aircraft C310!!!!! but is expensive to operate, but... IS A GREAT PLANE!!!! FUNNY AND TALL TO TAXI.

foxmoth
8th Sep 2009, 19:16
I never have flied one Tomasa but I think is a dangerous airplane to show STALL