PDA

View Full Version : Warning Lights Saddleworth Moor Comms. Tower

markequal
5th Sep 2009, 18:07
I hope that you all forgive me as a novice here and as a non-pilot. I occasionally pass the Saddleworth Moor "TV" Tower close beside the M62 above Manchester, towards Leeds. I notice that although this tower is almost on the crest of the moor and is often obscured by clouds, there are no visible marker lights illuminated at night?
Another (admittedly higher) tower above Huddersfield at Holmfirth carries lights as does the massive Winter Hill Transmitter. I guess there is a logical reason but with the advent of low -flying helicopter emergency vehicles and also given that relatively low objects such as (those under final approach) car park lamp standards in Handforth, Cheshire carry a red lamp why is there no such light above Saddleworth?
Again, I apologise in advance for my total lack of professional knowledge.
Thanks for reading this.:ok:

Rainboe
5th Sep 2009, 20:55
When I was flying at Leeds, I was quite fascinated with this tower. I drove over to look at it and found it quite a stunner. I don't know why you didn't see lights- I'm sure I saw them there, and by law the tower has to have them. I have seen the lights at night, and I recall there is another tower near there visible, and well lit.

The construction of this tower interests me. It is unconventional.

markequal
5th Sep 2009, 22:42
Thanks Rainboe,
The tower is close by junc. 22 with the A672 Ripponden Road at ~400m.