PDA

View Full Version : Flygprestanda

dynamite dean
30th Aug 2009, 11:37
hello I have posted in the tech log forum but just to get a braoder reply whilst I wait for a reply from flgprestanda itself I'll post here.

I am flying to a place and the flyg gives worse case scenario .v1 etc for a MTOW . However I am leaving empty. Simple question as i am new to this peculiar software I am not happy using V1 VR V2 with such a large difference. The other crew member just says just use the nearest ...well in our case its the MTOW figs verses the GURU of 12 kts lower for th V1 ...what do others do? The idea of doing overspeed take offs when you dont have to on what is a very short runway seems more sensible to me.

:ok:

Paradise Lost
30th Aug 2009, 17:24
Having established what climb gradient you need to clear your obstacles, check in the AFM that you will achieve that gradient at your proposed lower take-off weight, then use the tab data for V1/VR/V2 etc.
GURU should give you all that data anyway if you have entered the parameters accurately.

Empty Cruise
30th Aug 2009, 17:39
Flygp figures give you a MTOM. When you are below this mass, you have two options:

1) Stick with the MTOM speeds. If you can stop at MTOM from a given V1, you can surely stop from the same speed at a lower mass? Or - to put it another way - would you have a problem with departing the runway at MTOM?? Plus, your 2nd segment climb performance will improve - so there is no problem using the MTOM speeds.

2) Proceed up the table until you hit a temp where your MTOM has reduced to near your actual MTOM. Then go with those figures.

Either way, you'll be safe, given that either your actual temp or mass will be lower than limiting. However, if you do go along with the suggestion to just drop the V1, make damned sure your aircraft doesn't use an improved climb schedule.... or you might get a surprise if you loose one :ugh:

falconbis
2nd Sep 2009, 05:42