PDA

View Full Version : Portuguese Market

ng78
21st Aug 2009, 16:52
I'm wondering for those with any insight as to what the Portuguese market may be like these days for commercial pilots. Netjets has furloughed crews, and TAP is reducing their winter capacity. In general though, are there any expectations for hiring in Portugal anytime soon? If so, what are the entry requirements? I am presently a 500 hour Canadian pilot with turbine experience, and am considering converting to a JAA licence, but the cost and time may not be worth it in the end. I am fluent in Portuguese, and have a Portuguese passport and citizenship.

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

greenno
22nd Aug 2009, 10:16
I don't know about the market in Portugal but you have one of two important requeriments, speak portuguese.

Second is a JAA licence, if you had a FAA licence and you can get a Job in USA o Canada, still there.

If you want live in Portugal you will need close 12-18 month to get a JAA licence.

Maybe you can ask to convert in AERONAUTICAL ACADEMY OF EUROPE - Academia Aeronáutica de Évora, S.A. (http://www.aae.pt/)

maverick_supersonic
22nd Aug 2009, 16:06
I asked the same questions a few years ago and the answers I got back then were all positive. Things in Portugal were great and opportunities were many. But unfortunately times have changed.

I arrived in Portugal over a year ago to to my JAA validation at AAE (highly recommendable, but not the cheapest) and on the 1st day, during the 1st hour of theory our lecturer told us that things were really bad and were only going to get worse! Boy was he right!

Out of the 40 odd Portuguese students that have graduate at AAE within the last year, only 2 have obtained a flying job (one of them in Angola). Yet, the number of student enrolling themselves in the ATPL courses is just getting greater and greater. From what I hear, the schools in Lisbon (Cascais) are also packed.